So, long story short, the Norwich + Hanover “partnership” is going great, quite better than the very beginning of the school year. New friends have been made and new groups are forming and the level of awkwardness has dropped from an 11 out of 10 to more like a 1.

Though the new transformation is great, that’s not really what I want to talk about. The other day I was walking across the street, freshly out of a busy Tuesday of school, when I passed the two Norwich buses that were first in line to escape from school. I saw Norwich kids, different ones with whom I had passed in the hallway, laughed with in homeroom, and ruthlessly shot field hockey balls. Different people from each of these activities, (whom I had no idea even knew each other), were standing there, comfortably talking.

Then I thought how (meanly) us Hanover kids used to joke about how we thought before the Norwich buses arrived and after the Norwich buses left were the best part of the day. That was when we could finally be at un-awkward peace with our old classmates. Now, I realize, it really wasn’t a bad thing. Remember my old post, “The Revacation?” When I talked about how great it feels to do something you hadn’t done in a long, long time? This is common idea occurs again.

I know this sounds confusing, but now it’s not so mean anymore to enjoy the time we have with just the kids from our town. Hanover kids have their revacation time, Norwich kids have theirs.

During the day we can be one big and jolly connected grade, which I think everyone is personally enjoying, (and secretly proud of.) And then just a touch after school, and a bit before, we can have our own time to relax with our “hometown friends”, to revisit the good old sixth grade days but still realize that change is happening for the better.

So let’s enjoy this while we can. Because right now, it’s smooooooth sailing.

Circle

About shrubio

I am a fan of Tom Hanks, Jim Carrey, Ringo Starr, and MC Hammer

Leave a comment